doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Dogfox Best flux for partial barrel rib re solder? - 08/10/18 06:35 PM
I will be resoldering a 4 inch section of top rib with 50/50 solder. Regarding the flux one book recommends zinc chloride solution, another one says rosin, and I have used nokorode paste with good results on other steel soldering though not barrel rib. Any Ideas on these or other recco's would be appreciated. Thank you.
Posted By: SKB Re: Best flux for partial barrel rib re solder? - 08/10/18 06:50 PM
Rosin, clean it well with a degreaser first, wire everything in place and do not get it so hot you burn the rosin.
SKB, thank you. What about using 50/50 solder with rosin core along with powdered rosin in the joints?
Posted By: SKB Re: Best flux for partial barrel rib re solder? - 08/11/18 01:33 PM
I use plain 50/50 solder and a liquid rosin flux. Rosin core works great for electrical connections but you need more flux for gunwork. I have no experience with powdered rosin flux so can not comment on it.
Steve
Mix the powdered rosin with acetone or denatured alcohol.
I would also wire the barrels in that area so that the heat does not travel through and melt the bottom rib solder.
Thanks Steve Mark and David. I will go with the liquid rosin flux on order now. I’ll also practice on a scrap barrel. Question, how far back from the joint should I remove the barrel blue?w
Posted By: SKB Re: Best flux for partial barrel rib re solder? - 08/13/18 11:55 AM
You do not need to remove the barrel blue but you need a clean surface for the solder to bond to. I usually try to de-grease the local area with acetone etc. then slip a piece of abrasive paper in the crack and try to clean it up a bit more before soldering.