doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Stanton Hillis Remington forend inlay - 01/18/18 02:07 PM
I am going to just do some cleaning up of my Remington 1889. The barrels are at Mike Orlen's for evaluation as to whether or not he can clean up some bore pitting. Looking at the wood, I see that the black (I guess it's supposed to be black, it's so grungy) forend inlay is held in place by a wood screw, from the top side of the forend. I looked through Semmer's chapter on 1889s, but while I see pics of the same inlay, I can't find a reference to what it is made of. I would assume ebony, but would appreciate a confirmation, or correction, of that before proceeding with my cleaning.

Thanks in advance, SRH
Posted By: SKB Re: Remington forend inlay - 01/18/18 02:17 PM
most vintage inlays are horn but I am no expert on Remington guns. I would start with something mild like warm soap and water. Sometimes it is amazing what it will remove.
Posted By: Walter C. Snyder Re: Remington forend inlay - 01/18/18 03:56 PM
Ithaca used ebony for the fore end inlay. No screws.
Posted By: Stanton Hillis Re: Remington forend inlay - 01/18/18 03:56 PM
That was my plan, Steve. Thanks.

Would horn be held from the factory by a screw? I've never seen it done before, so since it appears to be a wood screw I figured maybe it was ebony. I guess it doesn't really matter if I just use soap and warm water.

Thanks, Walter.

SRH
Posted By: Paul Harm Re: Remington forend inlay - 01/18/18 06:13 PM
Mine is ebony and there is a screw on the back side of the forearm.
Posted By: Stanton Hillis Re: Remington forend inlay - 01/18/18 06:19 PM
Thanks, Paul. I took out all the screws and scrubbed it good with Murphy's oil Soap and warm water. It's drying now over very low heat. My inlay is not very black, even after cleaning. It might could do with some staining to get the really black color back.