doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: tomcast John Buckingham England SxS Hammergun query - 05/02/07 07:51 PM
Hi folks! New guy here!
My brother just presented me with the 12 ga. dbl hammergun our grampa picked up in Europe after WW1! The locks are stamped JOHN BUCKINGHAM ENGLAND and the toprib is stamped ENGLAND LAMINATED STEEL with a nice spiral pattern on the barrels. All steel parts are nicely engraved and the wood(?) buttplate has a nice birdhunting scene w/roccoco vines carved into it! The pistol grip wrist is fully checkered. Circa 1860 to 1880?
Google searches for this builder have come up empty. I posted this inquiry on the americanlongrifles.com sight, where I usually hang out(I'm a muzzleloading gun builder), and was given a link to this sight. I have taken pics but haven't had time to download them to my photobucket. I will post some pics if anyone's interested.
Does anyone here have information, timeline & value (not for sale)for this builder??? THANKS!
The name John Buckingham dose not appear in any of my reference books pertaining to the English gun trade. In all probality, it was a gun made by the Birmingham trade and sold under the name of a hardware store[Ironmonger in the U.K.]
Details of the proof marks will help to establish the origin of your gun, can you post same for review?
An outside possibility exists that the name Buckingham relates to a city of that name in Buckinghamshire, England.However the only gunmaker listed in Buckingham is John Meeham, Bridge Street, in 1852
The name John Buckingham dose not appear in any of my reference books pertaining to the English gun trade. In all probality, it was a gun made by the Birmingham trade and sold under the name of a hardware store[Ironmonger in the U.K.]
Details of the proof marks will help to establish the origin of your gun, can you post same for review?