doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: df06 Barrel selector, single trigger - 05/27/16 05:33 PM

I have two SXS shotguns, both single trigger, my preference.
One is a CSMC RBL 20 ga. The barrel selector is moved to the left to shoot the left barrel.
The other gun is a Merkel 147E 16 ga. On this gun, you move the barrel selector to the left to shoot the right barrel. Just got this gun and really like its feel, looks and how it fits me. Have not shot it yet.
Seems odd to me that these barrel selectors are opposite? Am I missing something?
I have been shooting two barrel shotguns since the early 1980s and very rarely switch barrels on game, so its not a big deal to me, but curious about this.
Posted By: AmarilloMike Re: Barrel selector, single trigger - 05/27/16 05:54 PM
In England they drive on the left

In France they drive on the right.

Must be a hell of a mess in the middle of the Chunnel.

Edit: On my Foxes the Kautzky single trigger barrel selector moves forward and backward.
Posted By: gunut Re: Barrel selector, single trigger - 05/27/16 07:51 PM
yea I know what you mean...first time I shot my sst 147 merkel back in the 90s....I thought what the hell??
Posted By: Stanton Hillis Re: Barrel selector, single trigger - 05/27/16 09:52 PM
You think that is confusing, try tossing a couple of O/Us, with different kinds of barrel selectors into the mix. I hate barrel selectors. If I don't have double triggers on a gun I'd just as soon it not have a barrel selector either.

SRH
Posted By: Buzz Re: Barrel selector, single trigger - 05/27/16 10:03 PM
The Browning Superposed (I know, I'm talking an O/U :-( ) safety/barrel selector is the only bad fault of the guns. Before I had my 20 ga barrel selector locked to shoot only the bottom barrel 1st, I can't tell you how many times it would get caught in the middle when the birds went out. Albeit, this was a well used gun, no telling how many times the safety button had been actuated........but still a bad fault, imho.