doublegunshop.com - home
Hello there all, just wondering if anyone would have a ballpark estimate of the value of this shotgun. Supposedly my dad told me it is an 8 gauge. I have a pic of an ithica 10 gauge next to the barrel of the double. thanks for the replies

Posted By: CBL1 Re: F. Williams shotgun value?? (pics included) - 08/13/10 10:28 PM
Steven - it comes down to many variables I am afraid , and although I am by no means an expert (plenty are on here though), I have spent some time around some big bores this side of the pond.

More information would be needed on the maker (English?), on the condition, proofing and measurements of the barrels especially, and although the muzzles do not appear in bad shape, it may not be so throughout the remainder of the gun. From the other photos, the wood seems a little worn, but sound and the metal/action fit not bad (although one of the screws seems to bear evidence of some hard work/pressure on it). If you could put up more pictures, you may get some more expert views than mine.

As regards value, it really is a massively wide range; see this

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=184013936

which is a recent example which appears in some worse condition than yours. A well conditioned double 8 with provenance and a strong wildfowling history/maker can often go for >$7-$8k+ or more.
Yea i could definately get some more pictures up. Would you happen to know of any appraisers this side of the atlantic(maryland area)? I guess i should probably put another post up about that. I was thinking about going onto the antiques roadshow(i'd have to buy a ticket).
Looks 8 ga. to me.

The maker is English, as I found out from Google. Here's a 10 ga. one in about the same condition offered for $700.

http://www.gunsinternational.com/F-WILLIAMS-10-BORE-SXS-HAMMER-SPORTING-GUN.cfm?gun_id=100037977
Originally Posted By: stevenjames