doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: wyobirds Altering a shotgun vs future value? - 10/17/09 03:48 PM
There is much ado about not modifiying or altering a shotgun from its original configuation. I believe that high end guns mfg. by H&H, Purdy et al are sent back to the maker for refurbushing without lessoning the value. While not anywhere near the the same value as the guns mentioned above, I have been shooting an AYA #2 16 gauge for about 4 years. The stock has been fitted to my dimentions and I have rubbed in a little true oil on the stock to remove scratches. I may have the checkering touched up and will probably refinish the wood in a year or two. Have I destroyed the value of the gun?
Posted By: rabbit Re: Altering a shotgun vs future value? - 10/17/09 04:23 PM
One common opinion on maintenance of market value of the Spanish clones is that you can't do much. Buy new for 4k, sell used between 2K and 2.5K. That depreciation is built-in when purchased new. I doubt any personalization could produce a result of that magnitude.

jack
Posted By: James M Re: Altering a shotgun vs future value? - 10/17/09 05:07 PM
I think high end British shotguns are gauged by a different set of standards then other firearms collectibles. So "freshening up" seems to be tolerable including re-blueing the barrels.
However this would be the kiss of death for firearms such as Colt SAAs or Lugers. Other opinions?
Jim
If it is a 50% gun in it's original state and refinishing automatically makes it a 50% gun, what have you lost? If you like it, do it.
Posted By: jas Re: Altering a shotgun vs future value? - 10/17/09 07:34 PM