doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: PeteMar Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/18/09 11:59 PM
Hello out there,
I am trying to get a positive ID on the model of this Merkel over/under and a value for it. I am considering buying it. It belonged to the the sellers father. He has passed, so there is no way to get any specifications on it, aside from the fact that the shotgun was purchased in Germany in 1957 which I believe was its date of manufacture (957). Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Pete
PS- I am attaching photos of the piece to help with the ID. Again, any and all info is appreciated. Pete

Posted By: postoak Re: Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/19/09 12:15 AM
Does it have a three piece fore end ?

I think it is a Model 200e - but, I am no expert on Merkels, others with more knowledge will be along shortly.
Posted By: rabbit Re: Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/19/09 12:24 AM
Can tell the lower "half" of the 3 piece by the large mating flats next the barrel channel in the forend photo. Can also see the mating surfaces of the upper slivers a few photos later. Looks to me that it has the right amt. of squiggles to be exactly what Postoak says it is.

jack
Posted By: postoak Re: Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/19/09 12:36 AM
Oh and thanks for the clear pictures ! I did miss the three piece forend inspite of them

That helps and speeds things up.
Posted By: rabbit Re: Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/19/09 12:37 AM
Specifications? Bored small, choked tight. What's it worth? Seen a few 2K+. Gave 1500 for one made late sixties. Presumably volume of use (or abuse) and resulting condition (percentage remaining finish exterior, condition bores and mechanicals) has some bearing.

jack
Posted By: George L. Re: Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/19/09 02:06 AM
Try e-mailing Merkel USA & give them the SN.

Best Regards, George
Posted By: Dave K Re: Merkel O/U model ID and Value check - 08/20/09 09:45 PM