doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: Fred Lowe .410 for quail - 11/19/06 12:46 AM
I have been shooting Gambel's Quail for about 10 years now with a 28 ga. Parker Repro. I'm thinking I'd like to try using a double .410. Does this sound ridiculous or can anyone make recommendations of a good "decent" double SxS .410 (new or old) that "average Joe" can purchase. Budget up to either side of five grand.
Thanks
Posted By: Drew Hause Re: .410 for quail - 11/19/06 12:53 AM
You make the call Fred. I tried that a few years ago when younger and more filled with myself. I used the gun regularly on low gun skeet and usually shot 22-23. Stopped using it on KS and MO quail after losing too many birds I knew I had hit-and this with good dogs. Prior to making your decision, I'd suggest you do some pattern work comparing your 28 with a .410 at the yardage in which you usually take your shots at birds.
Posted By: Fred Lowe Re: .410 for quail - 11/19/06 12:57 AM
I hunt over Setters and only shoot pointed birds. I don't think I'm so full of myself, that's why I'm asking. I've not tried those inserts that allow you to shoot a .410 through a 28. Has anyone any experience with those?
Posted By: Drew Hause Re: .410 for quail - 11/19/06 01:15 AM
Inserts are a great idea Fred, prior to investing in a gun. I obtained good patterns using skeet loads 20 to .410 but they are messy and guys have observed that the O-rings on the GaugeMate-Gold (the ones that stay in the chamber) tend to deteriorate quickly. A more expensive alternative would be the Chamber Mates or the Briley Side-Kicks. The Gauge-Mate Tubes and Little Skeeters are a pain, esp. for bird hunting.
BTW: I was making an observation about myself, not you, and as I said, you must make the call.
Posted By: Jim Legg Re: .410 for quail - 11/19/06 01:20 AM