June
S M T W T F S
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Who's Online Now
6 members (Jimmy W, Stanton Hillis, fallingblock, Roundsworth, dukxdog, Lloyd3), 325 guests, and 0 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics38,575
Posts546,551
Members14,424
Most Online1,344
Apr 29th, 2024
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

L Brown,

I'm pretty confident about Nikko burning down and will check on the date. I'm still learning who's who in the gun business here. The two Japanese I know who are REALLY knowledgeable, so I have a lot of questions for them. The challenge is getting together - we only see each other once a month or so and never have enough time to talk AND shoot - and only one of them speaks English.

Sincerely,
Patrick
Sidelock
Sidelock

Quote:
Nikko made guns for Winchester (such as the 101 I have)

That's new info to me. I thought all of the real 101s were made in the joint venture Olin-Kodensha plant.

Quote:
Mirokus are popular in England and Europe, but not so much in the US. They do make Guns for Charles Daly and Winchester.

It's been a long time since Miroku made any guns for Charles Daly. I have never seen a Winchester made by Miroku. Do you have any model numbers?

Sidelock
OP Offline
Sidelock

Replacement,

I don't disagree with your statement that the the 101s were made in the joint venture between Winchester and Nikko. I think my sentence and yours are compatable. Nikko also sold the same gun under the Nikko name within Japan (with the nicer stocks). With regards to my tense that Miroku makes (present) vice made (past) guns for Charles Daly, you may be correct. I don't know if they currently make for Charles Daly, just the they did. Their Website does NOT show the Charles Daly. For Winchester, Miroku's Japanese web site shows they make reproductions of the lever action rifle models 1885, 1886, and 1892 Trapper.