Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
tlwhhf Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock

Newbie here.

I recently inherited a grade 20E Francotte 16 ga. dbl barrel shotgun (A&F). I am unfamiliar with how the chokes are indicated on the barrels and was wondering if any of you could help me out.

The gun came with three sets of barrels - two are original and one was made in 1964. I have confirmed the various proof marks using your Belgian gun database (its very helpful - thank you) but just cant seem to figure out the choke designation.

The three barrels are labeled thusly: #1: "16.9 choke 16.8" on both barrels; #2: "17.0 choke 16.9" on both barrels; and, #3: RB "17.0 choke 16.9" and LB "17.2 choke 16.9".

The thing that confuses me is, for example, on gun #3 it appears that the choke is larger than the bore or the gun has two different bore sizes both choked sown to 16.9.

The other thing that is confusing is that when I use a micrometer on the muzzle end of the #3 barrels I get: RB 16.8 and LB 17.0. Its all very confusing.

Can any of you help me out? Many thanks.

P.S. I have talked with Bob Beach and am waiting for his report.

Sidelock
Sidelock

I'd forsake all those constriction numbers and pattern it with a couple different sizes of shot, large & small. Now that will be your empirical choke. What is on the tubes is constriction, i.e. the term choke just notes constriction.

Cheers,

Raimey
rse

tlwhhf Offline OP
Boxlock
OP Offline
Boxlock