doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: runswithelk Help Identifying a Combination Gun - 04/28/16 04:50 PM
Hello,

I have recently purchased a beautiful combination gun supposedly from Ferlach, Austria and said to be in a 16 guage over 7x57. The research on the proofs that I have done are not indicating that it is from Austria, but I'm very new at identifying proofs. What I've seen like crown over N, Crown over U indicate German Proofs, but I'll leave that to the experts.

I also have a possible issue the caliber. Although the barrel is stamped 7. mm / 57 The rifle will not close with a 7x57 rimmed cartridge. It won't even close with a firing pin protector.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I'm new to this site, this is my first post and look forward to hearing from you. Thank You.

MJS
http://s1378.photobucket.com/user/runswithelk/library/?sort=3&page=1
Posted By: canvasback Re: Help Identifying a Combination Gun - 04/28/16 05:28 PM
You will need to post photos of the proofs.
Posted By: King Brown Re: Help Identifying a Combination Gun - 04/28/16 05:38 PM
It's a great combination, 16 and 7 X 57. My choice if I were to buy one. Hope you get it figured out. For elk and birds around: perfect.
Posted By: runswithelk Re: Help Identifying a Combination Gun - 04/28/16 05:45 PM
Hi Canvasback,

Thanks for the reply. Can you assist me with posting the images I have. I can't find where to upload them on the post. Thanks.

MJS
Also, be advised that most Ferlach built drillings in 16 gauge have shorter than 70mm chambering- 70mm - 2.75"- If this is the case with your gun, you'll have to shoot 2.5" RST shells in it. Also, a drilling in 7x57 takes a different case that a 7x57 Mauser Bolt rifle-- Viel Gluck. Der Fuchs!!
Posted By: James M Re: Help Identifying a Combination Gun - 04/28/16 06:09 PM