doublegunshop.com - home
hello i bought a Remington 1894 shotgun at a auction for a hundred bucks it far missing the forearm the strip of metal between the barrels was half ass soldered and the stock was cracked. I have ordered a stock. Im trying to figure out the type of fore arm and the style of mechanism that holds it and where to find it or a print so i can build my own Im a machinist. also any advise on getting the strip brazed back to the barrels.ANY ADDITIONAL INFO ON THE GUN IS APPRECIATED.thanks
[img]http://s483.photobucket.com/user/Patrick_Allen_Schau/media/image.jpg7_zpsa4zjjz3k.jpg.html[/img]
Posted By: gunut Re: project gun 1894 Remington double barrel - 05/26/15 08:27 PM
you've got a lot of work ahead of you....unless it was a FAMILY heirloom I would not do it....but that's me.... and unless you plan to do a lot of the work yourself, in the end you will be into it at least double what it will be worth....
That is a very late Remington Hammerless Double. It is in the last thousand made during the clean-up in 1910 when Remington sold off their entire inventory of break-action guns to Norvell-Shapleigh Hardware of St Louis, and went into the future with their John M. Browning designed Autoloading Shotgun and their John D. Pederson designed Repeating Shotgun.

Are those Ordnance Steel barrels?
Posted By: Mark II Re: project gun 1894 Remington double barrel - 05/26/15 11:48 PM
If you go ahead with the project, the ribs are soft soldered on, brazing is far too hot. MKII
Posted By: skeettx Re: project gun 1894 Remington double barrel - 05/27/15 12:42 AM

Looks like the gun wore a Beavertail forend. Based on the bluing wear on the barrels. I doubt it was original.

It is my personal opinion that your lower rib is too mangled to be able to fit it reasonably and re-use it.

I have a set of 1894 barrels available for sale, but they are Damascus.

Ther is a good amount of these guns out there in well used condition that could be used for parts.