doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: JK in Florida The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 03:07 PM
Howdy folks. I'm sure someone out there (probably everyone but me!) knows the origin "bbl", often used as an abbreviation for the word "barrels". Have often wondered about that...
Posted By: JohnM Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 03:26 PM
Me? I'm a lazy writer. It was the easiest contraction I c'd think of, which accurately reflected the word of origin. No idea as to where I'd seen it, prior to that use, but would think such a useful abb had been around for a loong time.

PS: I might haved a cornerstone on the word "PETAphile", tho. Someone who care'd c'd write a master's theis researching it that claim. Not that the subject is so great, but that Master's theses have sunk to such minutiae. ;~`)
Posted By: Drew Hause Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 04:41 PM
My goodness I hope spring comes soon
The Latin word for cannon is canna, which comes from 'reed' which may come from a bamboo tube (used by the Chinese as early cannons) or cannae.
Barellus is the Latin word for 'barrel', but referes to a 'cask' rather than the barrel of a cannon.
Posted By: Shotgunjones Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 04:48 PM
Easy.

1 bbl = 31 gallons
1/2 bbl = 15.5 gallons (Keg)
1/4 bbl = 7.75 gallons (Pony Keg)
Posted By: erik meade Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 05:41 PM
according to this site and others it comes from Blue Barrel (standard color for 42 gallon oil barrel.) According to wikipedia that is not correct...
Posted By: Chuck H Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 06:11 PM
Once again proving, truly, this is the 'college of obscure knowledge'.
Posted By: C.L. Willis Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/19/07 06:54 PM
A compendium of worthwhile information and useless trivia.

Regards,
Charles
Posted By: tw Re: The origin of "bbl" - 03/20/07 01:42 AM
origin unknown, but thot to perhaps be from the Gaulish.