doublegunshop.com - home
Posted By: montenegrin Grand Prix London 1932 - 11/01/12 01:32 AM
I was reading that gunmaker Johann Sigott of Ferlach was awarded Grand Prix and Gold Medal at the International General Trade Exhibition that took place in London in 1932. I wonder who were his competitors and what was the Ferlach gun that made such an impression?

With kind regards,
Jani
Posted By: montenegrin Re: Grand Prix London 1932 - 11/04/12 08:15 AM
TTT - let's give it another try...?

With kind regards,
Jani
Posted By: John Can. Re: Grand Prix London 1932 - 11/04/12 01:06 PM
Jani - Not necessarily a gun, it could be an innovation, for example H. Pieper got the same award for introduction of the mono-block in 1889? (I think). Some of his SxSs have this bragging right on the mono-block, just happen to have one of those. So what became an almost norm in gun production after 1932?,I'm no expert but off the top of my head "ejectors" / some such gizmoe comes to mind. Perhaps the more knowledgeable will jump in here. FWIW --- John can.
Posted By: montenegrin Re: Grand Prix London 1932 - 11/05/12 12:23 AM
Thanks John, that's a good point.

With kind regards,
Jani
Posted By: Roy Hebbes Re: Grand Prix London 1932 - 11/05/12 04:41 AM
m0ntenegrin
1932 saw England [indeed the world!] in the grip of recession.In order to try and stimulate business a series of international trade shows took place in the U.K.circa 1920-1930s. Many were held at Wembley a site for many such exhibitions, commencing with the Empire Exhibition which I believe was held circa 1925.
A check of the records of companies such as Purdey,Holland and Holland,Greener etc; dose not show any evidence of their participation in any exhibition held circa 1932. For example in 1932 Purdey,s new gun sales fell to 32 and to a mere 6 in 1934!